ICC T20 World Cup 2021 India Squad: R Ashwin picked, MS Dhoni named mentor

 India's have named their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup, which will start from 17 October, has been announced.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 India Squad: R Ashwin picked, MS Dhoni named mentor

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 India Squad: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday, announced Team India’s 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. The squad featured R Ashwin, the off-spinner, who returned to the white-ball side after a lay-off.

Four years after he was discarded from India's T20I set-up, R Ashwin has forced his way back in, named in the squad of 15 for the 2021 T20 World Cup. In another surprise move, the BCCI has roped in former captain MS Dhoni as the team mentor specifically for this tournament. 

The main group of 15 comprises six specialist batters, three all-rounders, three specialist spinners and three specialist fast bowlers. The selection panel led by former India fast bowler Chetan Sharma also named the trio of Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur as reserves, who will act as injury or Covid-19 replacements.

Among the notable absentees were Shikhar Dhawan and lead legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal. Instead, the selectors opted for mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy and legspinner Rahul Chahar, who, along with Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Axar Patel are heading into their first World Cup.

India’s 15-man squad:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby players – Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.

Find More Sports News

Post a Comment

Thanks For Visiting...Keep learning...!

Previous Post Next Post