For more Updates follow to our Telegram Channel Get now!

Table of Content

BJP Foundation Day: How BJP reached majority by two seats

bjp foundation day story, BJP foundation day celebration, bjp foundation day 2021, BJP foundation day, how bjp formed, all about bjp,bjp sthapna diwas

 The Bharatiya Janata Party in its present form came into existence on 6 April 1980. The BJP, which won only two seats in the 1984 Lok Sabha elections, is strong today with a majority on its own.

BJP Foundation Day: How BJP reached majority by two seats
The party's mouthpiece is 'Kamal Sandesh' which is a fortnightly magazine. The election symbol of the BJP, which is moving forward on Hindu nationalism, is 'Kamal'.

JP Foundation Day: On 6 April 1980, the BJP was founded by people from Jana Sangh under the chairmanship of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Which is currently celebrating its 41st Foundation Day. Vajpayee and former Deputy Prime Minister LK Advani together increased the party from two seats in 1984 to 182 seats in 1998.

Thousands of delegates gathered at the two-day national convention at Ferozeshah Kotla Maidan in Delhi on 5-6 April 1980, and on 6 April a new political party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was announced. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was elected its first president. While Advani was given the responsibility of General Secretary along with Sikandar Bakht and Surajbhan.

The BJP went ahead by turning Hindutva and Ram Janmabhoomi and won an absolute majority by winning 282 seats on its own in the year 2014. Which was led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. In 2019, its seats crossed the 300 marks.

Advani has written in his autobiography 'Mera Desh, Mera Jeevan' (Prabhat Prakashan) on coming into existence of BJP. In the 'Lotus Blossom, Birth of Bharatiya Janata Party' chapter, Advani describes how the Jana Sangh was broken and the BJP came into being.

After winning only two seats in the 1984 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP moved ahead on the issue of Hindutva. By making Ram Janmabhoomi an agenda, the pair of Vajpayee and Advani brought the BJP into mainstream politics. In 1989, BJP won 85 Lok Sabha seats, then in 1991, it won 120 seats. Under the leadership of Vajpayee, the BJP gave the country the first permanent coalition government in 1998.

When Amit Shah was BJP President, he started a campaign to make BJP the largest political party in the world. Today BJP claims to be 18 crore members.

Read To Hindi: Click Here 

Bharatiya Janata Party
PresidentJagat Prakash Nadda 
General SecretaryB. L. Santhosh 
PraesidiumNational Executive 
Parliamentary ChairpersonNarendra Modi
(Prime Minister)
Lok Sabha leaderNarendra Modi
(Prime Minister) 
Rajya Sabha leaderThawar Chand Gehlot
(Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment) 
TreasurerRajesh Agarwal 
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee
  • L. K. Advani 
Founded6 April 1980 (40 years ago) 
Split fromJanata Party 
Preceded by
  • Bharatiya Jana Sangh (1951–1977) 
  • Janata Party (1977–1980) 
Headquarters6-A, Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Marg,
New Delhi-110002 
NewspaperKamal Sandesh 
Think tankPublic Policy Research Centre 
Student wingAkhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad
Youth wingBharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha 
Women's wingBJP Mahila Morcha 
Labour wingBharatiya Mazdoor Sangh 
Peasant's wingBJP Kisan Morcha 
Membership180 million (2019) 
Integral humanism 
Social conservatism 
Right-wing populism 

Political positionRight-wing 
International affiliation
  • International Democrat Union 
  • Asia Pacific Democrat Union 
Colours Saffron 
SloganThe Party with a Difference
ECI StatusNational Party 
  • National Democratic Alliance
    (All India) 
  • North-East Democratic Alliance
    (Northeast India) 
Seats in Lok Sabha
300 / 543
(currently 536 members and 7 vacancies) 
Seats in Rajya Sabha
95 / 245
(currently 236 members and 9 vacancies) 

Post a Comment

Thanks For Visiting...Keep learning...!